This is what Nintendon’t.

Last night, Dad surprised My brothers and I with a new Wii, given that ours has been broken for two years, imagine my frustration upon discovering that I couldn’t transfer Most data! Here’s an email that I sent to Nintendo about the inability to move data between Wii consoles. I hope this gets straight to Fils-Aime’s desk:

To whom it may concern:

My family (Mom, Dad, myself, and my two younger brothers) has been a Nintendo family for over a decade. We’ve owned a Super Nintendo, a GameCube, and a Wii, along with two GameBoy Colors, two GameBoy Advance SPs, and probably 6 DSes (every iteration but the XL), as well as a 3DS. For the majority of these systems, we purchased them within the first two months of availability. We’ve purchased more than 100 games for the home consoles and over 30 for the handhelds easily.

In 2010, our Wii suffered from a couple of drops that resulted in the disc drive not spinning the way it used to. While it became loud (louder than the original Xbox 360; it was bad), the Wii would still read discs (with some patience, trial & error, and luck), so we played it as is.

On Sunday, May 6th, my youngest brother turned 12, and we purchased Super Smash Bros. Brawl for his birthday. Unfortunately, our old Wii wouldn’t play the disc without a combination of luck, patience, and turning the Wii in a variety of orientations (hey, it worked!).

Last night (Monday, May 7th), my dad surprised my younger brothers and myself with a new black Wii. Excitedly, we hooked up the new Wii and got ready to move over our game saves — the same way we would have if using memory cards found in the last generation of consoles, including our GameCube. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that all of the WiiWare, Virtual Console titles, and half of our game saves wouldn’t transfer! Six years of work, time, patience and good times were trapped on a loud, sputtering white box while its sleek successor hummed fresh out of the packaging.

The most frustrating part was that some recent games, like Super Mario Galaxy 2 and Metroid: Other M seem to transfer fine. And these are games that we enjoy playing and paid for. Others, like my and my brothers’ favorite, Super Smash Bros. Brawl, remains trapped on a loved, but broken piece of hardware. Records, replays, etc. were unavailable. And there’s no technical reason why it can’t be moved to an SD card. It’s simply Nintendo implementing a backwards policy that places unnecessary restrictions on its users. Let me note that my family once had disc drive issues with a GameCube, released over a decade ago in 2001, and we simply bought a new one. We had no issue whatsoever because our games were saved game saved on Nintendo’s proprietary memory cards.

Having read our plight, is there a way that we can get our game saves transferred from our old Wii to our new one? The last thing that we want to do is have to return the new Wii because it won’t play the game we ended up buying it for, and I’ve read stories of Nintendo transferring data for users.

Hopefully, Corporate will have the opportunity to see this message as well. The year is 2012. A time when phones can make presentations and download software over the air, cars can park themselves, and Mario has been stomping on Goombas’ heads for upwards of 25 years. If I was to break my iPhone, I could simply buy a new one and restore my data from my computer without missing a beat. If I needed a new Mac, I could simply buy a new one and restore it from a back up. If it was my Xbox, I could just copy the data from the hard drive, or redownload purchased games through my Xbox Live account. If this was my DS Lite, the game was even saved on the game itself, so no matter if I was using my DS or my Mom’s, I had my game save. Why is it that I can’t move a game file of a few kilobytes from a Wii to an SD card?

From a household brand such as Nintendo, this is truly unacceptable. With the Wii U coming out soon, I know that I’ll be advising my family on whether to purchase it or not, and given Nintendo’s current financial status, it needs all of the hardware sales it can get. If the problem isn’t resolved, then I’ll be sure to lead them to further invest in our Xbox 360 rather than buying a new Nintendo console.

My family has invested heavily in Nintendo for many years, and we would like to continue. We waited with baited breath at all of the E3 announcements. My brothers and I voraciously poured through Nintendo Power to see what we needed to save our allowance for. We defended the GameCube on the playgound and the Wii in the cafeteria. We love the games and the franchises. But our Nintendo experiences may fade into Nintendo memories when competing companies tempt us with far more entertainment options for a comparable price—and allow us to transfer save data that we’ve worked on for years. Nintendo still wins in our eyes with games, and that’s why our parents purchased a Wii for us (that we don’t want to return if we don’t have to): because we love it.

Please, Nintendo. I want to blast some more metroids with Samus, and pilot Fox McCloud in his Arwing with my brothers just a few more times before I go to college in the fall. But I don’t want to have to boot up my GameCube to do it.

Sincerely,
Linzie F. Bogan, II

2 thoughts on “This is what Nintendon’t.

Leave a Reply

