You see me Ridin’

I want a bike.

No, I’m not 10.

I’ve got 30 days left until it’s time for me to leave Tallahassee for college. Because I’ll be staying on campus at Vanderbilt, I’ll no longer need Ramona—my red Honda CR-V that a number of you know and love (she’ll be passed on to Clark, God help us). While walking is a perfectly acceptable means of transport, it is quite slow. To increase my carrying capacity, speed, and cool factor, I’d love to get a new bike. 

There are a lot of advantages to having a bike on campus:

  • Faster transportation from A to B in comparison to walking.
  • The option to go further distances around the campus—on my own schedule. (i.e. a church within a mile and a half radius of campus as opposed to a couple of blocks)
  • Being able to carry a bigger and heavier load (with the inclusion of a rack). If I was carrying something while biking, I wouldn’t be slowed down as much as I would be as if I was carrying it. 
  • It’s great exercise. Exercising while touring Nashville? Sure.

After putting in some internet research on the different types of bikes, bike locks, and bike accessories, my current object of lust is this baby: 

 

 

 

Image

(Isn’t she beautiful?)

Anyway, It’s got all of the things I’m looking for: 

  • Multiple speeds: It’s a seven speed, so that gives me some gradient flexibility. 
  • Chain guard: No one wants the chain to rub grease all over their pants. It also affords a bit of protection to the chain. I also like the European flavor to it.
  • Fenders: Riding in the rain isn’t so bad. Riding in the rain with the front wheel kicking puddle water at you is. It’s also classy.
  • Back Tire rack: The rack will be great for putting my daily bag/sports(!) gear on. 

Given that it has all of these features, looks like a man’s bike, and clocks in cheaper than $500, I’m pretty excited about it. I didn’t want to go with a commuter type of bike because I didn’t really like the look of it, I wouldn’t need 21 speeds, and the above style is more laid-back and attractive to me. I won’t be racing anyone on it, though; and that’s perfectly fine with me.

Unfortunately, my parents want me to wait until I “Get into the collegiate rhythm” before I decide whether I want a bike or not. I don’t want to wait because:

  1. I’m impatient. Let’s be serious here.
  2. I want to establish my routine WITH the bike, not create one and then graft in the bike later on. It’s very hard to change a pre-established habit, and I’d rather have a habit that involves 7x faster transport from the get-go.
  3. It will be easier to take it down there with me in August, and not have to worry about my parents dealing with how to mail a bicycle later on. It’s not like sending a postcard.
  4. I want to explore Vanderbilt and the surrounding area when I move in on August 18, and classes don’t start until the 23rd. That’s plenty of time to bike around and explore the area.

Just to be fair, I’ll offer rebuttals to my claims so that you don’t have to:

  1. “Be patient.” Not that I want to be.
  2. “You can always change your routine later on”. Valid, but I don’t think that this trumps my original point. That’s simply a delay just to have a delay.
  3. “That doesn’t mean that they can’t just mail it. UPS, USPS, and FedEx can mail it anyway.” That’s true. But that still doesn’t beat bringing it with me. That way I don’t have to worry.
  4. “You’ll have plenty of time to explore! You’ll be there for four years!” That’s actually a really good point. But the sooner the better, and I want to be one to suggest nearby places to new people that I meet when I get there. It’s a great way to make new friends.

Well, you’ve heard both sides of the story. Do you think that I should wait? Do you think that I should get one before I go? Or will I not need one at all? Sound off below.

Leave a Reply

