Family Heirlooms

No matter what the item, be it accessory or article of clothing, family heirlooms are always cool.

Back in 2007, my Great-Grandfather passed away. I didn’t know much about him; only that he was a General in the military and traveled abroad often. He was the kind of guy with a lot of stuff, and when he died my dad and I went over to his house in Texas and picked up a number of things (like a fishing boat). We grabbed a number of other things, but I was entering 7th grade and really didn’t have an appreciation for anything that was there. (Now, I’d love the opportunity to go back and see if there are any old jackets or blazers that he had. It’s a great way to add a healthy boost to any closet.)

One of the smaller items that my dad received from his grandmother was Grandpa’s gold(en) watch. It was too small for him, so he handed it to Clark, my younger brother by 13 months. As it turns out, the clasp didn’t work, and he didn’t care to fix it. He didn’t like the small dial either, and eventually passed it to my youngest brother Winston. He didn’t care for it either. None of us wanting to throw it away, we simply let it wander around from place to place; abandoned and timeless. 

Fast forward to Summer 2012, and I’m looking to expand my wardrobe with my influx of graduation money. I looked at some watches, but any decent watch starts at least around $100. I’m not a big watch guy like Clark, so I later moved on to other things. Earlier today, I took another look at the watch and tried putting it on. It looked nice, but the clasp was still broken. I grabbed a hammer and hit the lip back into place, and lo and behold, it was back in wearable condition. But it was still dead. Imagine my surprise when I found out that it was a wind-up watch! this made it that much cooler.

This watch fills a need in my jewelry collection: all of the jewelry I wear is silver: my ring, my cross necklace, and my 16th birthday watch. But my much-beloved Clubmasters are gold. Mixing metals isn’t cool. In addition, when I dress up, I tend to wear black with gold accents [cufflinks and studs] (for Distinguished Young Gentlemen events as well as Vanderbilt colors). Again, silver ring and watch not helping. This gold watch, on the other hand, helps to that situation. 

In my opinion, any jewelry that a man wears should have a purpose. I don’t like frivolous jewelry on men (or in general, really). My watch was a present from my dad when I turned 16, and my ring is from Guatemala, my first mission trip. If I was to get a gold ring, it would have to be at/for some sort of special occasion; not simply because I see a pretty one. At least, that’s the case for me.

Here’s a look.

Image

Leave a Reply

