Problem Solved. [Kinda]

A couple of days ago, I wrote “The Sad State of Nintendo Gaming“. That article was prompted by my frustrations in playing Call of Duty Modern Warfare 3 on the Xbox 360 with my cousins and siblings (that’s the eloquent way of saying that I got absolutely decimated on a repeated basis). At the end of the article, I had this to say:

“But with that, I’d like them to be able to stick with their standard dual-analog format with the Pro Controller, and I could simply use a Wii Remote and Nunchuk combo…

Let me end this post with my look at my dream console: A Nintendo-branded console in full HD console with a modern wireless communication network between consoles that get full ports of killer games on other consoles. And one that does so while providing innovation, customizability, and backwards-compatibility. Is that too hard to ask?”

Well, the day when that happens won’t be here for a while. But the day when GoldenEye 007 for the Wii comes out has already come and gone. I did some research on the best FPS on the Wii, and GoldenEye reigned victorious. I picked up a copy yesterday, and am already a big fan. And the best part? The game’s controls are bring-your-own-controller-and-customize-it-to-your-hearts-content. Wii Remote + Nunchuck, Wii Zapper, Classic Controller Pro, GameCube controller… eat your heart out. Seriously. I’ve been tinkering with the precise controls constantly.

On a slightly related note, I found the limited-edition Metroid Prime Trilogy in GameStop today. It was swiftly picked up along with GoldenEye. Trilogy uses the Wiimote + Nunchuck combination that I love so much for first-person shooters; I believe that it has the perfect control scheme. Prime Trilogy really takes all of the thinking out of navigating with Samus. If I can extend that to Bond… I’ll be invincible (well, as invincible as I can be without Super Missiles…).

It helps that GoldenEye has an excellent multi-player mode; that means that I can invite some friends over next year and take care of ’em with ease, whether they’re dual-analog or not. Unfortunately, the Wii U won’t have support for GameCube controllers (which makes sense; it did come out in 2001); the Cube controller was one of the most comfortable and well-designed ever—especially with the asymmetric ABXY layout. Fortunately, the Wii U Pro Controller  looks to fix some of the shortcomings of the ‘Cube controller (no Z equivalent on the left side, no select button, small C-Stick nub)—and it will be wireless.

Get ready. Oddjob’s gunning for you.

Leave a Reply

