The Apple Watch, Revisited

Hopefully you saw my last piece on the Apple Watch. In it, I argue for the standard model of Apple Watch, primarily based on on the argument of higher durability. But after visiting the Apple Store earlier this week and trying some on, I’ve decided that the 38mm Space Grey Sport may be the way to go.

There are a number of advantages to getting the Sport model. The cheaper price of entry is a benefit that can’t be overlooked. The lower price of entry allows for a number of options with the newly-freed cash. It would lead to a lower cost of entry for a later model. It would also soften the blow in case it got irreparably damaged. The savings could also be used to justify the purchase of AppleCare (always a good idea), additional bands (the space grey only comes with a black band, and that white band looks all too showy/sweet for me to avoid), or even a bedside stand such as the TwelveSouth HiRise. As for the size, the 42mm looked too much like having a screen on my wrist rather than having a watch on for my taste.

Going with the space grey Sport is not without its drawbacks. First and foremost, the Ion-X glass isn’t as strong as the sapphire of the higher-end model. An additional downside is that the attachments for many of the bands are stainless steel, rather than aluminum; this won’t be the cleanest of looks. Hopefully, this is something that third parties will be able to rectify.

Ultimately, it’s a balance of cost, desire, looks, projected longevity, and environment. If you want one, you’ll have to ultimately judge for yourself what works for you. But recently I’ve been seeing just how often people check their phones, and paying attention to my own habits. I really think I can benefit from it. I definitely encourage you to try one on if you can—it’s your first glimpse of the future.

Update: One thing I forgot to consider is the smaller battery of the 38mm. I’ll have to think about that some more and maybe give the 42mm some more thought. Battery life is critical, and with the recently announced watchOS 2 with native apps, battery life will be even more of a concern.

Leave a Reply

